Currently reading…

30 Jan

…’Wilt in Nowhere’ by Tom Sharpe.

Wilt-in-Nowhere2

One of my first forays into comic literature and I’ve had this book sitting around for a good few years as it was a Christmas gift from a couple of years ago.  Only recently, however, did I think it would be interesting to examine the comic novel so I started reading this and so far, I actually quite enjoy it.

I’ve always been drawn to haunting novels that examine the complexities of human nature (a la Kazuo Ishiguro and Ian McEwan) but it’s good to mix things up a little and not be so intense all the time.  Sharpe’s writing is easy to read, witty, very English and has actually had me laughing out loud on various forms of public transport.   It’s thoroughly dependent on a tight plot and lots of characters’ misfortunes interweaving leading to hilarious consequences.  Good for a chuckle but the characters don’t exactly imprint themselves in your memory which is often the case with comic novels in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

