Creative writing progress

12 Feb

Finally submitted my second assignment for my LSJ course, which involved having to write a plot summary of a published novel and submitting the first chapter or section of your novel.  Being Queen Procrastinator, this took me a lot longer than I had anticipated as I completely rewrote the beginning of my novel, deciding to adopt a first person narrative.  This has radically altered the tone of my novel which has slipped into darker and more reflective territory – something I feel I am better suited to.

With regards to the course, I am far more interested in the personal feedback I receive from my tutor and I would probably pay the fee purely for the constructive criticism I get.  However, I find some of the assignment tasks like writing a random plot summary slightly arbitrary.  I think this is all useful stuff, especially when you’re trying to sell your novel but at the moment, I’m much more concerned with writing my novel, rather than marketing it.

3 Responses to “Creative writing progress”

  1. Rebecca January 8, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    Hi,
    I am just doing a Google search trying to find some feedback for the LSJ online writing courses and came across your blog. Just wondering your thoughts on the course?
    regards
    Rebecca

    • jadeinlondon January 8, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

      Hi Rebecca,
      I used it mainly as a means for getting some feedback on a novel I was writing, so I would send off a chapter and receive a page of feedback from my tutor. I found it useful in the sense that it’s good to get someone to critique your writing, especially someone whose views are entirely objective. It did make me reconsider and ultimately decide to restructure my first draft as a whole. That said, the feedback you receive isn’t necessarily the most detailed, and I think in the future I would prefer to go to actual classes rather than online ones.
      Hope this helps!

      Jade x

      • Rebecca January 8, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

        Thanks for your quick reply!

Leave a Reply

