Novel update

7 Mar

I have been pretty lax with writing my novel.  Not something I’m proud of.  I have, however, been working on a series of short stories, some of which I’ve sent off to various competitions so hopefully something positive can come of these although I find out quite a bit later on in the year.  I think it’s easier to keep motivated when writing short stories – probably something to do with the shorter time span involved in creating them which allows you to see the fruits of your labours sooner rather than later.

To try and get back into the swing of things, my predominant focus this weekend will be my writing.  I have even taken Monday off to spend a whole day in the library.  No distractions at all – I shall disable the internet – and let’s see what happens…

4 Responses to “Novel update”

  1. Greg March 7, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Keep persevering Jade -I LOVED your Tiny Buddha article and think you’re lovely 🙂

  2. Kimberly March 8, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    Hi Jade
    I just wanted to touch base as i read your article in Tiny Buddah and really connected with it. I have been trying to find myself for many years. I have succeeded in some areas by trying different things and meeting different people. I think my biggest challenge has been in finding my own value. Every experience i have is showing me more and more opportunities to express who i really am. It is not always easy as people will not always accept you or like what you have to say. But it has come to the point for me where i cannot be any other way, regardless of any reaction or opinion i might receive. It can be a lonely place sometimes bit then i read about people such as yourself and know i am not the only one on this journey! I love my cup of tea as well and my teapot has a lovely tea cozy over it. My fav is english breakfast tea! keep writing and keep finding out about you – there is no one more important! Ramblings from Canada!!

    • jadeinlondon March 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Hi Kimberly,
      Thanks so much for your comment. I think everyone feels lonely at points in their life when they’re trying to discover who they really are but you should remember that there are lots of us out there. In the long-run, being true to yourself is much more rewarding. It is always hard to let go of wanting to be liked by people – this was one of my main problems- but trying to fit in or be someone you think other people want you to be erodes your confidence and your individuality and I know in my case, I ended up feeling thoroughly lost and alone. Enjoy the process of finding out what you like and don’t like and you attract authentic relationships. Love your ramblings! Xx

Leave a Reply

