The Place beyond the Pines

17 Apr

I have a feeling I’m in the minority here but I watched the long-awaited ‘The Place beyond the Pines’ last week and HATED it.  Well, perhaps, ‘hated’ is too strong a word; there were positives, for example Gosling’s raw performance, the beautiful cinematography and the soundtrack.  However, what started out as a semi-promising film soon disintegrated into an oversentimental and thoroughly predictable plot.

ryan

I had expected great things from director Cianfrance, as ‘Blue Valentine’ starring Ryan Gosling (again) and Michelle Williams was heartbreakingly beautiful.  I have the DVD at home and it never fails to move me.  Part of Blue Valentine’s appeal was its realness when looking at the painful process of a relationship breaking down.  While some of these themes are revisited in ‘The Place Beyond the Pines’, it is the realness that is missing.  There are far too many ‘coincidences’ and the shifting through time is unnecessary and incredibly cheesy.  I found myself wanting to walk out when the film shifts to ’15 years later’ when, by a coincidental twist of fate, the two sons of Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper’s characters become friends.  The portrayal of teenagers and the god-awful accent of AJ (Cooper’s son) was almost too much to bear.  I was unable to empathise with the characters by this point – instead, they exasperated me and I was really starting to grow impatient with their sloppy character portrayal.  Although Bradley Cooper’s character was initially intriguing and had the potential to be developed further, most of the second half was embarrassing, clunky and awkward – it literally made me squirm in my seat because of its awful dialogue.

Thoroughly disappointing.  Although, one thing I have discovered is that Gosling’s acting never fails to impress me; however, this time, not even him wearing a Metallica t-shirt with tatts, giving off a Marlon Brando vibe was not enough to save the film…

3 Responses to “The Place beyond the Pines”

  1. mashupweb April 18, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Hi, that’s a nice review, I generally like Ryan Goslings films as well as he is generally a great character actor, but I think the film “The Place Beyond The Pines” seems to have multiple roles within the film like “Crash”. I guess that film did a lot better than this film because there were real associations between the characters with a back log of history of events before the main event. I hope Ryan Gosling chooses a better film for next time.

    • jadeinlondon April 19, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! Obviously it’s just my opinion; I know plenty of people who loved The Place Beyond the Pines but it just didn’t strike a chord with me 🙂

  2. 行動電源推薦 June 23, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    I truly appreciate this publish. I have been searching throughout for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve produced my day! Thanks once more!

Leave a Reply

